Ford Ecoboost 400 (Homestead) | Bonehead Picks

2017 Championship Race: Ford Ecoboost 400 (Homestead)

  • Pin It

Camping World and Xfinity have wrapped up their season and crowned their champions. Christopher Bell won the Camping World truck series title on Friday and William Byron the Xfinity championship before moving up to Monster Cup to replace Kasey Kahne next season. Speaking of Monster Energy, they will crown their first ever champion in NASCAR’s highest level, in which the playoffs have been full of domination rather than competition. There is definitely a lot to talk about.

Since the elimination format began, the winning driver not only won the race, but the championship at the same time the last three years. With the talent that will race for the title, there is a huge probability of that happening again. Denny Hamlin wins the pole for the second time this season for the Ford Ecoboost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, and is his second of his career at the track. Hamlin is also a two time winner at Homestead winning in 2009 and 2013.

Two of the Championship 4 contenders have won at Homestead, Kevin Harvick (starting ninth) won in 2014 and Kyle Busch (third) in 2015. In 12 career starts, Martin Truex Jr (third) has seven top tens, best finish of second in 2006. Truex however has finished 12th or worst in the last three Homestead races including crashing last season. In nine starts, Brad Keselowski has only three top tens, best finish third in 2014 and 2015. Keselowski finished 15th when he won the 2012 title.

Last rides for 2017: It was just announced on Friday that Danica Patrick will wrap up her full time career after this race with Stewart-Haas Racing. She is making plans to race only in the upcoming Daytona 500 and the Indianapolis 500 with Chip Ganassi Racing. While Aric Almirola will fill her spot in 2018, Darrell Wallace will take over the 43 for Richard Petty Motorsports. As far as Kurt Busch in the 41, no deal has come up as of yet.

Paul Menard is leaving Richard Childress Racing to take over the 21 car for Wood Brothers Racing, as Ryan Blaney will become the third driver for Team Penske. It was rumored that Childress may downgrade to two cars with just Ryan Newman and Austin Dillon, or Brennan Poole from Chip Ganassi Xfinity may fill the seat. With Kasey Kahne leaving for Leavine Family Racing, William Byron will take over as the 24 car with Chase Elliott switching to 9. Alex Bowman will replace Dale Earnhardt Jr after his final race.

Erik Jones will move from the 77 over to Joe Gibbs Racing to take over the number 20 from Matt Kenseth. Furniture Row Racing has sold the 77 charter to a yet to be named team and will shut the team down after Homestead.

You can follow Boneheadpicks on Facebook and Twitter!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *