2018 NASCAR All-Star Race (Charlotte) | Bonehead Picks

2018 NASCAR All-Star Race (Charlotte)

  • Pin It

Possibly one of the biggest events not involving points is now upon us, as only a handful of Monster Energy drivers will get a shot at $1,000,000 on Saturday night. It will start off with the All-Star Open where in 50 laps and three stages, three drivers will advance to the All-Star Race and will include a NASCAR Fan Vote Winner. There will be roughly around 20 drivers total all set for the main event, and here is how most of them have already qualified for the big money.

The field will consist of winners going back to Charlotte in 2017 and up to Kansas in 2018. One spot filled by a former All-Star Race winner is Jamie McMurray, who won the event in 2014. Kyle Busch is the defending race winner, but there has been no repeat winner since Jimmie Johnson in 2012-13. There will be four stages with 90 laps, the final lap will consist of a 10 lap shootout with no caution laps counting. The Open will be 20,20 and 10 totaling 50 laps and starts earlier.

Matt Kenseth is the biggest surprise capturing the pole in his limited return to the Monster Energy Series as he not only looks for his second All-Star win, but will prove that Roush Fenway is looking to compete once again. The team is looking for their fifth All-Star win and first since Carl Edwards in 2011. With Kenseth on the pole and Ricky Stenhouse Jr second, there is hope that Ford will win the All-Star Race for the second time in three years and 12th overall.

There looks to be roughly 10 previous active winners competing in the race, the earliest is Ryan Newman in 2002. With no points involved, it is time to relax and race for a lot of money to fill their big pockets. Let’s just hope the rain stays away as we gear up for Saturday night racing.

You can follow Boneheadpicks on Facebook and Twitter!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *