Kevin Harvick Wins NASCAR All-Star Race | Bonehead Picks

Kevin Harvick Wins The All-Star Race

  • Pin It

Thankfully, the rain stayed away for this year’s All-Star Race, as it was full of slipping and sliding from every driver including the Open. Daniel Suarez, Alex Bowman and A.J. Allmendinger won their way into the main event with Chase Elliott winning the Fan Vote, joining 17 other drivers who had qualified by previous 2017-18 wins or former All-Star winners from previous years. As much slipping and sliding that occurred thanks to the package required by NASCAR, anybody could’ve won the million.

Allmendinger was becoming the biggest surprise showing no fear and working his way into the top five with pole sitter Matt Kenseth proving no match from the start. Kevin Harvick took control of Stage One and barely winning Stage Three before flying his way to his second All-Star victory in 11 years, and Ford winning the event in two of the last three. Suaraz who almost beat Harvick in Stage Three also finished second winning a quarter of a million dollars.

Defending winner Kyle Busch took Stage Two, but was involved in an eight car accident in Turn Four in Stage Three, which required in the All-Star Race, end the stage under green including the race. Stage One Open winner Bowman, hit the wall on lap 70, sending him to the garage finishing last. Allmendinger hit the wall in Stage Two, which stumped the rest of his performance but settled for eighth. Fan Vote Winner Elliott was the highest Chevrolet in the top five finishing fifth.

This year’s All-Star format stayed simple as it should be, with no requirements to pit or anything off the wall in that matter. The aerodynamics package required by NASCAR including a restrictor plate, looked to add a lot more movement and opportunities to pass whenever possible. Whether this package will be used for the upcoming Coca-Cola 600 remains to be seen. Even so, it is doubtfut you will see it on the Rovel, which is to debut in October.

You can follow Boneheadpicks on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *