The 60th Daytona 500 | Bonehead Picks

The 60th Daytona 500

  • Pin It

With the Clash and the Duels out of the way, the true official start of the 60th annual Daytona 500 is finally upon us. Brad Keselowski won this year’s Clash with Alex Bowman (pole) and Denny Hamlin starting in the front row. After wrecking near the end of the first Duel race, Keselowski will have to go to the rear. He is looking to become the sixth driver to win the Clash and the 500 in the same season while at the same time looking for his first Harley J. Earl Trophy.

In nine of the last 12 Daytona 500 races, there are actually only nine different active winners remaining, and the only multiple active winner left is Jimmie Johnson (twice). While winning the Daytona 500, Johnson has also went on to win the championship in the same year (2006, 2013). But since 2014, that was the last time a Chevrolet has won the Great American Race. The last Chevrolet team to win the Daytona 500 was Hendrick Motorsports in 2013 and 2014 (Dale Earnhardt Jr).

As far as advantages overall, it is Ford who has won two of the last three along with Kurt Busch winning his first last season on the final lap, giving Stewart-Haas Racing their first also. Joey Logano won his first Daytona 500 in 2015 and won Team Penske their second. Hamlin (2016) got Joe Gibbs Racing their second 500 trophy while earning not only himself but Toyota’s first. It also marked the first time that a manufacturer outside of the United States won the Great American Race.

Hendrick has won the most as far as active teams, looking for number nine which will tie the now defuntc Petty Enterprises. If Hendrick wins, they will move Chevrolet up to 24 wins all time which will also snap a three race losing streak in this event. But as everyone knows, as a restrictor plate race, this one is unpredictable.

You can follow Boneheadpicks on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *